Walking in County Durham
Area covered by this guide

Walking in County Durham

This guidebook contains 40 routes exploring all parts of County Durham. Ranging from 5 to 24km in length, the walks encompass wild moorland, rolling pastures, riverbanks and the low cliff coast. With such a range of possibilities, there are walks here for all abilities, from easy wanders to more challenging days in the hills.

Roman forts, ancient churches and castles are found in a rich, varied and wonderfully scenic landscape. Solid stone villages encircle extensive greens, while on the high Pennines, vast tracts of moorland are now designated as 'open access'.

County Durham lies between two mighty rivers - the Tyne to the north and the Tees to the south. The county stretches from the high Pennines in the west to a low cliff coast in the east.

As well as detailed route descriptions and annotated OS maps for every route, the guidebook includes useful practical information, from distance, ascent and terrain information, to refreshments along the way and public transport access.

In addition, the guide provides advice on preparation and how to get to and around County Durham, as well as details on the geology, history, wildlife and points of interest along the way.
Welcome to ‘Walking in County Durham – the Land of the Prince-Bishops’.
Walking Routes

1 Durham City and the River Wear
2 Bearpark, Broompark and Brandon
3 Dipton and Hamsterley Mill
4 Beamish and Causey
5 Ouston and Urpeth
6 Lumley Castle and Great Lumley
7 Durham Coast Path
8 Castle Eden Dene
9 Wingate and Station Town
10 Cassop and Quarrington
11 Sedgefield and Hardwick Hall
12 Middleton One Row and Girsby
13 Low and High Coniscliffe
14 Gainford and Piercebridge
15 Cockfield Fell and Butterknowle
16 Woodland and Copley
17 Staindrop and Cleatlam
18 Greta Bridge and Brignall Banks
19 Tan Hill and Sleightholme Moor
20 Bowes and Bowes Moor
21 Barnard Castle and the Tees
22 Cotherstone and Romaldkirk
23 Tees Railway Walk
24 Middleton and Monk’s Moor
25 Middleton and Grassholme
26 Low Force and High Force
27 Holwick and Hagworm Hill
28 Mickle Fell via the Boundary Route
29 Cronkley Fell
30 Cow Green and Widdybank Fell
31 Cow Green and Herdship Fell
32 Bishop Auckland and Binchester
33 Circuit of Crook
34 Wolsingham and Frosterley
35 Wolsingham and Tunstall Reservoir
36 Stanhope and Stanhope Dene
37 Westgate, Middlehope and Rookhope
38 Chapelfell Top and Noon Hill
39 Cowshill, Killhope and Allenheads
40 Edmundbyers and Edmundbyers Common

ISBN 9781786311375
OUR PRICE: £14.95
Delivery Info  
Flat rate £2 postage on all items/orders up to £19.99 Free Delivery on orders over £20

Know someone who'd like this? Tell them about it...

Shopping with us is safe and secure
Copyright © Walking-books.com All rights reserved Created by White Room Creations T&C’s I Privacy Policy