Walking the Cotswold Way
A wonderful National Trail! So many beautiful villages to explore Making a traverse of Cleeve Common, Castle Rock can be seen on the scarp edge (Stage 4)

Walking the Cotswold Way

Guidebook to walking the 102 mile (163km) Cotswold Way National Trail between Chipping Campden and Bath, across the Cotswolds AONB.

The route is described in both directions over 13 stages, each following the Cotswold escarpment, with dramatic and far-reaching views across the Severn Vale towards the Welsh hills, plunging down to visit honey-coloured villages, old market towns and the elegant and historic city of Bath.

The longest of the 13 stages is 10 miles, the shortest 6 miles: these are dictated by the existence of overnight accommodation. For the determined, the trail can be walked in as little as five days.

The Cotswold Way offers a wonderful walker's landscape, featuring beautiful woodland, pretty cottages and ancient battlefields. The route can be walked all year round, and is suitable for beginner trekkers. It became a National Trail in May 2007, despite having been a much-loved walking route for more than 35 years. This guidebook is illustrated with maps and the author's own full-colour photographs. The stage-by-stage route description is accompanied by overview maps at a scale of 1:100,000 (1cm to 1 mile).

A more detailed map of the Way is supplied in booklet form, at a scale of 1:25,000, slid into the back of the book.  A trek planner gives at a glance information about facilities, public transport and accommodation available along the way.  The guidebook also provides background information on local geology, wildlife and history.

Stage 1 Chipping Campden to Stanton
Stage 2 Stanton to Winchcombe
Stage 3 Winchcombe to Cleeve Hill
Stage 4 Cleeve Hill to Dowdeswell (A40)
Stage 5 Dowdeswell (A40) to Birdlip
Stage 6 Birdlip to Painswick
Stage 7 Painswick to Middleyard (King’s Stanley)
Stage 8 Middleyard (King’s Stanley) to Dursley
Stage 9 Dursley to Wotton-under-Edge
Stage 10 Wotton-under-Edge to Hawkesbury Upton
Stage 11 Hawkesbury Upton to Tormarton
Stage 12 Tormarton to Cold Ashton
Stage 13 Cold Ashton to Bath

Northbound: Bath to Chipping Campden


Stage 1 Bath to Cold Ashton
Stage 2 Cold Ashton to Tormarton
Stage 3 Tormarton to Hawkesbury Upton
Stage 4 Hawkesbury Upton to Wotton-under-Edge
Stage 5 Wotton-under-Edge to Dursley
Stage 6 Dursley to Middleyard (King’s Stanley)
Stage 7 Middleyard (King’s Stanley) to Painswick
Stage 8 Painswick to Birdlip
Stage 9 Birdlip to Dowdeswell (A40)
Stage 10 Dowdeswell (A40) to Cleeve Hill
Stage 11 Cleeve Hill to Winchcombe
Stage 12 Winchcombe to Stanton
Stage 13 Stanton to Chipping Campden

ISBN 9781852848163
OUR PRICE: £12.95
RRP: £14.95
Delivery Info  
Flat rate £2 postage on all items/orders up to £19.99 Free Delivery on orders over £20

Know someone who'd like this? Tell them about it...

Shopping with us is safe and secure
Copyright © Walking-books.com All rights reserved Created by White Room Creations T&C’s I Privacy Policy