Cycling The Lancashire Cycleway - The tour and 17 day rides
Superb variety of bike rides

Cycling The Lancashire Cycleway - The tour and 17 day rides

Comprising two distinct loops that intersect at Whalley in the Ribble Valley, the 425km (265 mile) Lancashire Cycleway showcases the idyllic scenery of England's historic Red Rose County. The Northern Loop contrasts the quiet lanes and peaceful countryside of northwestern Lancashire with the thrill of the open moors of the Forest of Bowland AONB; the Southern weaves its way between the villages and towns in the south of the county, an area rich in social history. Easily accessible from the region's rail network, the route – which is all on-road – can be cycled either as a tour or a series of day rides. 
This guidebook presents the Lancashire Cycleway in 11 stages of 26.6-49.7km (16.5-30.9 miles), plus two short connections to link the loops to the major regional stations at Lancaster and Wigan, as well as 17 varied day rides for those wishing to explore the county further. Detailed route description and 1:100,000 mapping is presented alongside a wealth of information on local points of interest and facilities, and the magnificent colour photography offers a small taste of what the routes have to offer. The guide also includes useful advice for those new to cycling or cycle touring. 
Lancashire is a great place to cycle, and cycling is a great way to see Lancashire. One of its delights is its sheer variety. There's easy riding on the flat expanses of the west of the county and the gentle undulations of Arnside and Silverdale or the Ribble Valley. More stirring challenges are found in West Pennine Moors and the epic crossing of the Bowland Fells. But even on the wildest stretches, you're never too far from a welcoming pub and somewhere to sleep.

The Northern Loop

Stage 1a The Lancaster Link
Stage 1 Halton to Hornby
Stage 2 Hornby to Slaidburn
Stage 3 Slaidburn to Whalley
Stage 4 Whalley to Bilsborrow
Stage 5 Bilsborrow to Great Eccleston
Stage 6 Great Eccleston to Halton

The Southern Loop

Stage 7 Whalley to Laneshaw Bridge
Stage 8 Laneshaw Bridge to Holcombe Brook
Stage 9 Holcombe Brook to Appley Bridge
Stage 9a The Wigan Link
Stage 10 Appley Bridge to Croston
Stage 11 Croston to Whalley

Day Rides

Day Ride 1 Lancaster–Silverdale one-way
Day Ride 2 Lancaster–Silverdale–Lancaster
Day Ride 3 Lancaster–High Bentham
Day Ride 4 Lancaster–High Bentham–Lancaster
Day Ride 5 High Bentham–Slaidburn–High Bentham
Day Ride 6 High Bentham–Long Preston
Day Ride 7 Clitheroe–Slaidburn–Clitheroe
Day Ride 8 A circuit from Whalley
Day Ride 9 A circuit from Colne
Day Ride 10 Colne–Accrington
Day Ride 11 Entwistle–Haslingden–Ramsbottom–Entwistle
Day Ride 12 A circuit from Leyland
Day Ride 13 A West Lancashire circuit
Day Ride 14 Preston–Whalley
Day Ride 15 Whalley–Longridge–Whalley
Day Ride 16 Preston–Longridge–Woodplumpton–Preston
Day Ride 17 Kirkham–Lancaster

ISBN 9781852848491
OUR PRICE: £10.95
RRP: £12.95
Delivery Info  
Flat rate £2 postage on all items/orders up to £19.99 Free Delivery on orders over £20

Know someone who'd like this? Tell them about it...

Shopping with us is safe and secure
Copyright © All rights reserved Created by White Room Creations T&C’s I Privacy Policy