Walking the Lake District Fells - Keswick: Skiddaw, Blencathra and the North

Walking the Lake District Fells - Keswick: Skiddaw, Blencathra and the North

Formerly called 'Fellranger guides', they have been fully revised and modernised, and are now more compact yet no less useful in guidebooks called Walking the Lake District Fells.

This guide describes ascents of 30 Lake District fells that can be climbed from Keswick, the Whinlatter Pass, Bassenthwaite, Hesket Newmarket, Mungrisdale and Threlkeld. The giants of the region Skiddaw and Blencathra need little introduction, their myriad routes attracting many a visitor and promising fantastic far-reaching views. The summits to the north, however, are less frequented, offering probably the closest experience to wilderness walking the Lakes has to offer, whereas to the west, the Whinlatter group present a sylvan alternative.

Unlike other guidebooks which describe a single or limited number of routes to a particular destination, the aim of the Walking the Lake District Fells series is to offer all the options. These are presented as numbered sections which can be combined to create infinite possibilities - from simple ascents to longer ridge routes. You'll find the classics and popular routes alongside less traditional alternatives perfect for the wandering spirit. The series gives you both the freedom to devise your own routes and the information to make informed decisions, thanks to the clear descriptions of the routes, terrain, hazards, interesting features and safe descent paths should the weather close in. Also included are a handful of classic ridge routes for longer fell days.

Mark Richards' inimitable text is complemented by HARVEY mapping and the author's own beautiful sketch topos and panoramas. Perfect for keen hillwalkers and peak-baggers alike and ideal both for pre-planning and use on the hill, Walking the Lake District Fells is the new incarnation of the Fellranger series, which sees the volumes updated and trimmed to a more practical size. These true connoisseurs' guides are sure to inspire you to get out and explore the beautiful fells of Lakeland.

This title covers the Keswick area - Skiddaw, Blencathra and the North.


1 Bakestall
2 Bannerdale Crags
3 Barf
4 Binsey
5 Blencathra
6 Bowscale Fell
7 Brae Fell
8 Broom Fell
9 Carl Side
10 Carrock Fell
11 Dodd
12 Graystones
13 Great Calva
14 Great Cockup
15 Great Sca Fell
16 High Pike
17 Knott
18 Latrigg
19 Ling Fell
20 Longlands Fell
21 Long Side
22 Lonscale Fell
23 Lordís Seat
24 Meal Fell
25 Sale Fell
26 Skiddaw
27 Skiddaw Little Man
28 Souther Fell
29 Ullock Pike
30 Whinlatter

Ridge routes

1 The Skiddaw Skyline
2 The Blencathra Round
3 The Northern Crown
4 The Aiken Beck Horseshoe

ISBN 9781786310378
OUR PRICE: £12.95
RRP: £14.95
Delivery Info  
Flat rate £2 postage on all items/orders up to £19.99 Free Delivery on orders over £20

Know someone who'd like this? Tell them about it...

Shopping with us is safe and secure
Copyright © Walking-books.com All rights reserved Created by White Room Creations T&Cís I Privacy Policy