Walking the Lake District Fells - Patterdale Helvellyn, Fairfield and the East

Walking the Lake District Fells - Patterdale Helvellyn, Fairfield and the East

The area is home to some of Lakeland's most celebrated peaks - including the mighty Helvellyn, commanding over the classic arÍte scrambles of Striding Edge and Swirral Edge - with many summits connected by airy ridges affording great views and highly pleasurable walking.

Unlike other guidebooks which describe a single or limited number of routes to a particular destination, the aim of the Walking the Lake District Fells series is to offer all the options. These are presented as numbered sections which can be combined to create infinite possibilities - from simple ascents to longer ridge routes.

You'll find the classics and popular routes alongside less traditional alternatives perfect for the wandering spirit. The series gives you both the freedom to devise your own routes and the information to make informed decisions, thanks to the clear descriptions of the routes, terrain, hazards, interesting features and safe descent paths should the weather close in. Also included are a handful of classic ridge routes for longer fell days.

Mark Richards' inimitable text is complemented by HARVEY mapping and the author's own beautiful sketch topos and panoramas. Perfect for keen hillwalkers and peak-baggers alike and ideal both for pre-planning and use on the hill, Walking the Lake District Fells is the new incarnation of the Fellranger series, which sees the volumes updated and trimmed to a more practical size. These true connoisseurs' guides are sure to inspire you to get out and explore the beautiful fells of Lakeland.


1 Arnison Crag
2 Birkhouse Moor
3 Birks
4 Catstycam
5 Clough Head
6 Dollywaggon Pike
7 Dove Crag
8 Fairfield
9 Glenridding Dodd
10 Gowbarrow Fell
11 Great Dodd
12 Great Mell Fell
13 Great Rigg
14 Hart Crag
15 Hart Side
16 Hartsop above How
17 Helvellyn
18 Heron Pike
19 High Hartsop Dodd
20 High Pike
21 Little Hart Crag
22 Little Mell Fell
23 Low Pike
24 Middle Dodd
25 Nab Scar
26 Nethermost Pike
27 Raise
28 Red Screes
29 Seat Sandal
30 Sheffield Pike
31 St Sunday Crag
32 Stone Arthur
33 Stybarrow Dodd
34 Watsonís Dodd
35 White Side

Ridge routes

1 Fairfield Horseshoe
2 Helvellyn Skyline
3 Great Dodd Ridgeway
4 Deepdale and Dovedale Round

ISBN 9781786310347
OUR PRICE: £12.95
RRP: £14.95
Delivery Info  
Flat rate £2 postage on all items/orders up to £19.99 Free Delivery on orders over £20

Know someone who'd like this? Tell them about it...

Shopping with us is safe and secure
Copyright © Walking-books.com All rights reserved Created by White Room Creations T&Cís I Privacy Policy